Aspects of Golf Course Architecture 1925-1971 Vol. 2

Scroll books A-Z
  • Author:
    Hawtree, Fred
  • First edition:
  • ISBN:


By definition an anthology, it contains a collection of essays from behemoths of the Golden Age of golf course architecture in 1925 until 1971. It is a collection of writings to which Mr Fred Hawtree often referred.

Before each instalment, there is a short introduction with biographical notes and an account of notable achievements. Those represented in Volume One are as follows:

H.H. Hilton
J.F. Abercromby
John Morrison
Col. S.V. Hotchkin
Theodore Moone
Tom Simpson
Philip Mackenzie Ross
Molly Gourlay
C.K. Cotton
J.J.F. Pennink
Donald Harradine
Eddie Hackett
J. Hamilton Stutt
Fred Hawtree

While some excerpts are well known to the astute, well-read golf architecture student, most are from scarce or obscure titles. Well worth the investment as pertinent information from a large swathe of hard to find titles are contained therein. Limited to 400 copies, it is not easy to find. Even more so are the first 75 being the Woodstock Limited Edition.

Read if . . .

You want in one volume the most pertinent references of respected British architects as chosen by Fred Hawtree himself.

Own a copy

Discover Courses

View our interactive map to locate courses of architectural distinction throughout the UK & Ireland

Golf Architecture

Join the resurgence of interest in architecture with our comprehensive book guide and recommendations

Unique Collections

Browse Evalu18’s selection of golf courses, grouped by characteristics both common and quirky